deadline for abstract submission is set to 30 June 2020

Call for abstracts

We invite all researchers from master's students to experienced researchers to submit an abstract for Animal Behaviour Live: Annual Online Conference 2020. By submitting an abstract, you will be automatically registered to the conference, regardless of the selection results. Based on the received applications, the organising committee will select 24 submissions for talks and 50 for virtual-poster presentations. If you wish to submit an abstract for consideration, please fill the form by clicking the button below.

Submit your abstract

Time Zone

If you are applying for a talk, keep in mind that two sessions are available depending on your time zone: you should only apply for one. The first session will be held from 12pm to 3pm (UTC+0) and the second session from 9pm to 12am (UTC+0) on the two days. Make sure to carefully check the session that would suit your time zone before applying.

Time of sessions for several time zones
City - Time zone Session 1 Session 2
Paris - UTC+2 14:00 - 17:00 23:00 - 02:00
Los Angeles - UTC-7 05:00 - 08:00 14:00 - 17:00
New Delhi - UTC+5:30 17:30 - 20:30 02:30 - 05:30
Rio de Janeiro - UTC-3 09:00 - 12:00 18:00 - 21:00
Antananarivo - UTC+3 15:00 - 18:00 00:00 - 03:00
Sydney - UTC+10 22:00 - 01:00 07:00 - 10:00
Tokyo - UTC+9 21:00 - 00:00 06:00 - 09:00
Casablanca - UTC+1 13:00 - 16:00 22:00 - 01:00
Beijing - UTC+8 20:00 - 23:00 05:00 - 08:00

Abstract Guideline

Regardless of the format (Talk/Virtual-poster), the abstract itself should be less than 300 words excluding title, authors, and affiliations. Abstracts should not contain figures or references. Each participant is only allowed to submit one abstract as a presenting author. Online submission through the website form is the only method accepted for abstract submission.
Abstract notifications will be available by July 20 and sent by email to the submitting author. Please contact us at contact@animalbehaviour.live should you have any questions regarding abstract submissions. If (and only if) you cannot access Google products in your country, follow the process described here.

Talk

Twenty-minute standard oral presentation (15 min talk + 5 min of questions), presented by the author indicating his or her willingness to speak. The talks will be live streamed on our YouTube channel. Please note that the live stream will in principle only be accessible to the conference registered participants, thanks to the so-called unlisted video privacy setting. Talks will be archived as permanent public videos on the YouTube channel only if the talk authors gave an explicit agreement. In the absence of consent, live streams will be removed from Youtube two weeks after the conference and won't be accessible anymore afterwards.

Attempt to increase diversity

The abstract selection will be blind to the names and institutions but will assure gender equality, fair representation of underrepresented sociological groups and homogeneous geographical distribution.

Interactions with attendees

Each speaker (talk or virtual poster alike) will be provided a dedicated channel on a Discord server where conference attendees will be able to ask questions all along the conference. A nice way to get in touch with researchers from all over the world to discuss your work.

Virtual-poster presentation

Short Powerpoint/Keynote/Beamer presentation (maximum 6 slides including the title slide) with pre-recorded audio explanation (maximum 5 min). Virtual-poster presentations will be available on our YouTube channel in a specific sub-section, as unlisted videos, only accessible to the conference registered participants. They will be available during the whole conference, and will be archived for permanent consultation after the conference only if applicants give their explicit consent. In the absence of such agreement, virtual-posters will be deleted from YouTube two weeks after the conference and won't be accessible anymore afterwards.
A complete tutorial to record easily your virtual poster will be sent alongside selected abstract notifications.

How is your virtual poster supposed to look like?